ACS Secretary General highlights Cuba's role as a link between the ACS and CARICOM

In the framework of the 39th edition of the Havana International Fair, the Secretary General of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS), H.E. Rodolfo Sabonge, gave an exclusive interview to Cubaplus magazine and highlighted Cuba's role as a nexus between the ACS and the Caribbean Community (CARICOM). He emphasised that Cuba is closer to CARICOM, and praised Cuba's structure and active follow-up on ACS-related matters.

On the need to embrace changes in the organisation in keeping with the current situation in the world, the Secretary noted that since the ACS was created almost 30 years ago to date, the world has changed a great deal. Geopolitical approaches, environmental problems, military conflicts and climate change are problems that are affecting us, hence the need for our body to have a lot to do and the need to develop the tools to be able to do so.

Regarding the role of international organisations, he indicated that each was created at a different time, and that each has different purposes. The Secretary General emphasised their importance in addressing regional problems, proposing the possibility of collaboration between them rather than working individually. 

Regarding the future of the ACS, the Secretary General noted that the pandemic exacerbated pre-existing vulnerabilities in the region, calling for resolving financial issues and improving connectivity to address economic and tourism issues. He also advocated changing the global financial architecture to address the specific needs of the region.

Source: Ramos, Mercy Ramos. "Considera secretario de la AEC a Cuba como la nación más cercana a la CARICOM" Cubaplus Magazine,, 12/11/2023
About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.