ACS Congratulates Five Central American Members on 200th Independence Anniversary



The Association of Caribbean States extends congratulations to the countries of Central America celebrating 200 years of independence today.

On September 15 1821, after years of an active independence movement, independence from Spain was declared in Guatemala City. In 1823, the Federal Republic of Central America was formed. The Federal Republic included present-day Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. All five countries are founding Members of the ACS.

Central America is one of the four sub-groupings of the ACS Membership, which also includes: Group of three, Caricom and Non-grouped. Central America has been heavily involved in the work of the ACS. Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua have hosted Meetings of the Ministerial Council and or Heads of State/Government Summits of the ACS. All the countries of Central America have served on Executive Boards of the Ministerial Committee or Special Committees in the ACS focal areas.