United Arab Emirates Celebrates 50th Anniversary of Independence

The Association of Caribbean States is pleased to congratulate the State of the United Arab Emirates on its 50th Anniversary of Independence.

The United Arab Emirates is a member of the Arab-South American Summit (ASPA), highlighting that development and humanitarian aid is considered an important foreign policy instrument for this nation's leadership.

The UAE expressed an active interest in supporting the work of the ACS and in March 2017 became an observer member of the association.  In 2018 the two signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), which will provide cooperation for the protection and preservation of the environment, natural resources and the Caribbean Sea, sustainable tourism, disaster risk reduction, among other key areas for the sustainable development of the Greater Caribbean.

The agreed areas of cooperation also include: transport, trade development and external economic relations, climate change, promotion of the development of small and medium-sized enterprises, cultural, scientific and technological development.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.