4th Meeting of Strategic Regional Partners in Tourism

June 30, 2022

The Association of Caribbean States, through its Directorate for Trade and Sustainable Development (DTSD), held its 4th Meeting of Strategic Partners in Tourism on Thursday June 30th, 2022. The meeting was moderated by ACS Adviser with responsibility for Sustainable Tourism, Mr. Kennedy Pemberton, and saw the participation of three (3) additional key regional partners: the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS), represented by Senior Technical Specialist Ms. Maria Fowell and Head of the Economic Development Unit Mr. Kevin Hope; Ms. Amanda Charles, Sustainable Tourism Specialist at the Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO) and Mr. Miguel Guirao, Eastern Caribbean Support Officer at the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).

The meeting was held with the goal of conducting opportunity mapping and orchestrating partnership synergies in regional sustainable tourism development. During the meeting, significant areas of mutual interest were identified, with immediate areas for potential collaboration noted as World Tourism Day celebrations 2022, digitalisation of the tourism industry, MSME development, community-based tourism, and contributions towards the Glasgow Declaration. Representatives from other tourism regional and international organizations were also invited but were unable to attend due to scheduling conflicts. The Directorate expresses sincere gratitude to its strategic partner agencies and salutes their continued committed to the advancement of sustainable tourism development across the Greater Caribbean.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.