ACS meets International Labour Organization

The Association of Caribbean States (ACS) through the Directorate for Cooperation and Resource Mobilization (DCRM), under the stewardship of the Director Ingrid Anabella Jacobs, held a meeting on March 28th with Mr. Dennis Zulu, Caribbean Office Director for the International Labour Organization (ILO) and Mr. Lars Johansen, Deputy Director of ILO.  During the meeting, the DCRM and ILO discussed common areas of cooperation that will lead to developing a partnership of mutual benefit to amplify positive impacts of ILO programs and projects in the region.

For ILO, a regional partnership would be of importance to the Greater Caribbean, as joint work will bring different offices together that seek the wellbeing of the region. Ms. Ingrid Jacobs, director for DCRM, stressed out the fact that an integral approach to the work of both organizations will definitely yield positive benefits to the region as the Association of Caribbean States is a key institution in the region bridging together LAC Members States, and Associate Members.

In that sense, Mr. Lars Johansen, Deputy Director for ILO, shared some important facts in regards to climate change and labor market that would help in the formulation of future initiatives. Joint work will help both organizations to undertake interventions in the areas of climate change, green jobs, blue economy, MSME’s, sustainable tourism, and gender inclusion. The ACS promotes cooperation through the development of initiatives, programs and projects in the areas of trade, sustainable tourism, transport, disaster risk reduction and environment protection, some of which are of great interest to ILO.

The meeting was fruitful and will allow laying the foundations for the development of joint actions and projects that will generate a positive impact for the benefit of the Greater Caribbean region.

The meeting was also attended by Johakson Moncada, Research Assistant of the DCRM.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.