ACS meets the Ibero-American Program for Strengthening South-South Cooperation

The Association of Caribbean States (ACS) through the Directorate for Cooperation and Resource Mobilization (DCRM), under the stewardship of Director Ingrid Anabella Jacobs, held a meeting on March 15, 2022 with the Ibero-American Program for Strengthening South-South Cooperation (PIFCSS).

The meeting between both Director Jacobs and Mr. Daniel Castillo, Technical Secretary of PIFCSS, focused on exploring opportunities of institutional strengthening, as well as providing knowledge as it pertains to South-South and Triangular cooperation between Member and Associate Member States of the ACS. In that regard, the necessary foundations were laid to allow the coordination of joint collaboration activities; for instance, the exchange of experiences, and the training and workshops that would build and improve capacities in the region.

There is great interest on the part of both institutions to promote experiences in cooperation in the Greater Caribbean, as well as the experiences that other member countries of the ACS and the Southern Cone can contribute, enriching the existing conversations, but, above all, strengthening the capacity of the Membership in matters of South-South and Triangular cooperation.

The rest of the DCRM team that participated in the meeting included the Cooperation and Resource Mobilization Advisor, Lionel Michel, as well as the Administrative Assistant, Kafi Nicholas, and the Research Assistant, Johakson Moncada.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.