ACS Participates in the 4th Regional Dialogue Platform in Latin America and the Caribbean on Anticipatory Action

The Association of Caribbean States (ACS) participated in the 4th Regional Dialogue Platform in Latin America and the Caribbean on Anticipatory Action which took place from 28-29 September, 2022 in Antigua, Guatemala. The ACS was represented by Ms. Christal Benjamin, Research Assistant in the Directorate for Disaster Risk Reduction, Environment and the Caribbean Sea with responsibility for Disaster Risk Reduction.

This platform was hosted by the Anticipation Hub in collaboration with the German Red Cross and the World Food Programme. Event partners included the Guatemalan Red Cross Society, The Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations, the Climate Centre and the International Federation of Red Cross Red Crescent Societies.

The platform provided an opportunity for humanitarians, policymakers, communities, scientists, and academics to share progress, new initiatives, and work towards a joint agenda for Anticipatory Action in the Americas. The conference highlights included thematic sessions on topics such as animal health and forecast-based financing, an inter-agency simulation on anticipatory action against extreme drought and an initiatives’ fair which highlighted the ACS’ work on anticipatory action.

Coming out of this conference, the ACS has established new partnerships and has strengthened existing partnerships with regional organisations focused on anticipatory action. The ACS remains committed to participating in regional dialogues and initiatives, in order to strengthen anticipatory action in the Greater Caribbean region.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.