Colombia celebrates 212 years of independence

The ACS Secretariat congratulates the Government and People of the Republic of Colombia on this 212th anniversary of its independence. 

On July 20, 1810, the cry was given that marked a milestone in the Colombian nation, and today they celebrate the beginning of their history after achieving their freedom.

Colombia is currently, along with Jamaica, Vice Chairman of the ACS Special Committee on Co-operation and Resource Mobilization; and is also part of the subgroup of the Association's Group of Three, which also includes Mexico and Venezuela.

The Secretariat thanks Colombia for the immeasurable contribution it has made to the work of the Association and looks forward to continuing to work together to achieve common development objectives.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.