ACS and Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc host the 2nd High Level Meeting of Tourism Authorities

To celebrate World Tourism Day 2023, the Association of Caribbean States and Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc hosted the 2nd High Level Meeting of Tourism Authorities on September 27, 2023, in Bridgetown, Barbados under the theme "Invest and Innovate: Charting the course towards greater Sustainable Tourism Development".

This event represented an opportunity for tourism officials to gather and discuss the regional investment landscape related to tourism development and encourage closer synergies and coordination towards sustainable tourism growth in the Greater Caribbean. After an in-depth exchange, the event concluded with a shared vision by all participants to promote tourism investment that focuses on the preservation of natural resources and the adoption of sustainable tourism practices.

In the picture, from left to right are: Rodrigo Figueroa, Representative from the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso, Chile; Safiya Reid, Officer in Charge of the Directorate for Trade and Sustainable Development at ACS; Marsha Alleyne, Chair of the ACS Special Committee on Sustainable Tourism, H.E. David Comissiong, Ambassador of Barbados to CARICOM; H.E. Chairme Konigferander, Ambassador of Suriname to CARICOM and ACS; Karina Cató, Acting Secretary General of CATA;Yanet Stable, Ambassador of Cuba to Barbados; and Jorge Negrete Representative from the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso, Chile.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.