The Association of Caribbean States meets with United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction

His Excellency Rodolfo Sabonge, Secretary General of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS) and the staff of the ACS Secretariat met with Mami Mizutori, Special Representative of the Secretary General for Disaster Risk Reduction of the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR) and her delegation, on February 7, 2023.

The importance of strengthening early warning systems to protect the most vulnerable populations in the Greater Caribbean region was one of the main topics in this meeting. Secretary General Sabonge explained how the ACS is working to strengthen early warning systems, highlighting the obvious relationship between climate change and disasters that humanity is facing today. He also emphasized the region's vulnerability and the need for more resources.

As UNDRR aims to work with member states and regional organizations with a more inclusive approach, Mami Mizutor referred to ACS as a key partner to contribute to the UN Early Warning for All Action Plan. She stressed the importance of enhancing cooperation in order to achieve common objectives. The delegation representing the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR) was integrated by Jeanette Elsworth, Chief of Communication, Advocacy, Knowledge Management and ICT; Raul Salazar, Head of the Regional Office for the Americas; Carlos Uribe, Regional Knowledge and Risk Analysis Officer; Luis Burón, Public Information Assistant; and Alana Lewis, Consultant.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.