ACS congratulates St. Vincent and the Grenadines on becoming the first CARICOM country to hold the presidency of CELAC

Image from

The Secretariat of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS) presents its compliments to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade of Saint Vincent and The Grenadines and has the honour to refer to the recent appointment of Dr. The Honourable Ralph Gonsalves, Prime Minister of Saint Vincent and The Grenadines, as President of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC) at the 7th Summit in Buenos Aires that took place on January 2nd to 25th, 2023.

In this regards, the secretariat has the honour to congratulate the Honourable Prime Minister on his new role and expresses its confidence in the success of his term in office. In this regard the ACS offers its support to the President Pro Tempore (PPT) of CELAC as part of its own strategic efforts to deepen cooperation within the Greater Caribbean Region. This taking into account the overlapping membership of the CELAC and ACS Member States and Observers who are due to meet in Antigua Guatemala during the week of 9'12 May, 2023 for the annual statutory meetings of the Association and the 9th Summit of ACS Heads of State and/or Government, ahead of the July 2023 EU-CELAC Summit.

The Secretariat of the ACS avails itself of this opportunity to renew to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade of Saint Vincent and The Grenadines, the assurance of its highest consideration.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.