ACS Secretary General meets with the Ambassador of Türkiye

Her Excellency Bengü Yiğitgüden, Ambassador of the Republic of Türkiye to Trinidad and Tobago, held a meeting with ACS Secretary General, Rodolfo Sabonge accompanied by Lisa Douglas-Paul, Officer-in-Charge for Cooperation and Resource Mobilisation on Wednesday 17th January, 2024.

The meeting sought to discuss prioritised projects and matters of mutual interest towards the strengthening of relations and cooperation efforts between the ACS and the Republic of Türkiye. They explored the potential for cooperation in the areas of Sargassum, Tourism, Port Development, among others.

Additionally, they addressed the ACS' upcoming meetings to be held in Paramaribo, Suriname, and the possibility of Turkish Foreign Affairs Minister Hakan Fidan's participation in the 29th Ordinary Meeting of the Ministerial Council and the representation of Turkish companies at the 16th Business Forum. The meeting concluded with Secretary General Rodolfo Sabonge and Ambassador Yiğitgüden reiterating their commitment to continued dialogue and to the strengthening of cooperation initiatives. 

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.