Press Release from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Cuba

On 14 February 2024, diplomatic and consular relations between the Republic of Cuba and the Republic of Korea were established through an exchange of diplomatic notes between the Permanent Representations of both countries to the United Nations in New York. 

The establishment of official relations between the two countries was carried out in accordance with the purposes and principles of the United Nations Charter, International Law and in conformity with the spirit and norms established in the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations of 18 April 1961.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.